How many countries currently acknowledge Palestine as a state?

The leader of the Palestinian Mission in Dublin is expected to transition into the role of ambassador.


Since the 7 October attack, Israel’s conflict in Gaza has reignited international efforts to advocate for Palestinians to gain their own state.

Ireland, Norway, and Spain have joined the ranks of countries recognizing a Palestinian state, diverging from the traditional stance of Western powers that Palestinians can solely attain statehood through negotiated peace with Israel.

Their decision, which has angered Israel, increases the number of UN member states recognizing a Palestinian state to 145 out of 193.

These countries encompass numerous Middle Eastern, African, and Asian nations, but notably exclude the United States, Canada, most of Western Europe, Australia, Japan, and South Korea.

After Cabinet’s decision to acknowledge the state of Palestine, the Irish Government will await a formal request from the Palestinian Authority.

Related Posts
1 of 102

At that point, the Government will upgrade the status of the Palestinian Mission in Ireland to that of an Embassy.

It will also authorise the appointment of an Ambassador from the State of Palestine.

It is widely expected that the current head of the Palestinian Mission in Dublin, Dr Jilan Wahba Abdalmajid, will become Ambassador of the State of Palestine.

A formal ceremony would then be arranged to take place at Áras an Uachtaráin with President Michael D Higgins.

It is likely that Feilim McLaughlin, currently head of mission in Ramallah, will become Irish Ambassador to Palestine.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.