Warning: fopen(/tmp/60123e123738438af11a358099430899-LNRBDQ.tmp): failed to open stream: Disk quota exceeded in /home/timesoft/public_html/wp-admin/includes/class-wp-filesystem-ftpext.php on line 190

Warning: unlink(/tmp/60123e123738438af11a358099430899-LNRBDQ.tmp): No such file or directory in /home/timesoft/public_html/wp-admin/includes/class-wp-filesystem-ftpext.php on line 193

MQM-P defeats TLP by narrow margin to come out victorious in NA-240 by-election


The MQM-P won again in the NA-240 by-elections with a narrow margin of 65 against rival TLP.

MQM-P candidate Mohammad Abubakar got 10,683 votes, while TLP candidate Shahzada Shahbaz took second place with 10,618 votes.

Meanwhile, the Muhajir Qaumi Movement contester Syed Rafiuddin took third place with 8,349 votes and Nasir Rahim of the PPP took fourth place after obtaining 5,240 votes, and Shabbir Kaimkhani of the PSP took 4,782 votes to stand in fifth place.

Related Posts
1 of 200

The MQM-P won the constituency with a large margin in the 2018 general elections, whilst it also won the seat in 2013 and 2008. In the 2002 polls, the Muhajir Qaumi Movement won the elections, but following the death of its lawmaker, the MQM-P was able to win the seat in a by-election poll.

The non-stop polling ended at 5 p.m, but the day was marked by violence throughout the constituency with one person PSP member being killed, while several others suffered injuries, including ex-MPA Iftikhar Alam, who is also a member of the PSP.

A total of 25 candidates competed for the seat— A stronghold of the MQM-P — which became vacant after the death of MQM-P MNA Muhammad Ali Khan on April 19.

In a statement, the provincial election commissioner, Ijaz Chohan, stated that the turnout in the constituency remained 8.32% the constituency of more than 500,000 voters.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Fatal error: Uncaught wfWAFStorageFileException: Unable to save temporary file for atomic writing. in /home/timesoft/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php:35 Stack trace: #0 /home/timesoft/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php(659): wfWAFStorageFile::atomicFilePutContents('/home/timesoft/...', '<?php exit('Acc...') #1 [internal function]: wfWAFStorageFile->saveConfig('livewaf') #2 {main} thrown in /home/timesoft/public_html/wp-content/plugins/wordfence/vendor/wordfence/wf-waf/src/lib/storage/file.php on line 35