What is the meaning of Hajj?

Hajj means to intend

The literal meaning of Hajj is to Intend. Verbal meaning of Hajj is ‘the will to visit’.
In Islamic terminology, Hajj is a pilgrimage made to the Kaaba, the “House of Allah,” in the sacred city of Mecca in Saudi Arabia. It is one of the Five Pillars of Islam, alongside Shahadah (oath that one believes there is no god but Allah (God)), salat (prayer), zakat (almsgiving) and sawm (fasting during Ramadan).

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

When Hajj was made compulsory?  9 A.H

For whom Hajj is compulsory?  The Rich

Qurbani(Holy Slaughtering) is made during Hajj? Mina

The First Hajj offered by Muslims was in? 9 A.H

The injunctions(command) of Hajj is mentioned in? Surah Baqrah

How many Obligations of Hajj? Three (3)

Holy Prophet (SAW) offered one Hajj in? 10 A.H

Holy Prophet (SAW) sacrificed how many camels during the Hajj? 63

Types of Hajj? Three (3)

What is recited during Hajj on way to Mina? Kalimah-e-Tauheed

What is Rami in Hajj? Origin Of Rami (The Stoning Of The Devil)

The stoning of the Jamarat – otherwise referred to as the ‘stoning of the devil’ – is a ritual carried out by Hajj pilgrims whereby pebbles are thrown at three stone structures in Mina across three days.

What is the name of the stone used in Hajj? The Black Stone of Mecca, also known as the Hajar al-Aswad, is an important relic within the Islamic faith. It is located in the Grand Mosque in Mecca, Saudi Arabia. The stone is set in a silver frame nailed to the wall of the Kaaba, an ancient building at the heart of the Grand Mosque.

What is Jamarat during Hajj?

Related Posts
1 of 12

Jamarat is the plural of Jamrah in Arabic, meaning small stone or pebble. In the context of the Jamarat Hajj, the word refers to the three pillars at which pilgrims cast pebbles to reject sin and invoke Allah’s strength.



What are the names of the three Jamarat? 

The Jamarat (Pillars)

  • Jamarah al-Aqaba or Jamarah al-Kubra (the big pillar).
  • Jamarah al-Wusta (the medium or middle pillar).
  • Jamarah al-Ula or al-Sughra (the small pillar).

What is the story of Jamarat? During the ritual, Muslim pilgrims throw pebbles at three walls (formerly pillars), called jamarāt, in the city of Mina just east of Mecca. It is a symbolic reenactment of Ibrahim’s (or Abraham’s) hajj, where he stoned three pillars representing the Shaitan, and Muslims’ temptation to disobey the will of Allah.

What is Muzdalifah in Hajj?  

Muzdalifah is a valley between Mina and Mount Arafat in which pilgrims on Hajj spend the night in the open. It is here they gather Mina.

What are the stages of Hajj?

  • Preparation and Intention.
  • Enter state of Ihram.
  • Tawaf x7.
  • Safa and Marwa.
  • Clip/Shave Hair (Umrah ends)
  • Resting and Praying.
  • Enter state of Ihram.
  • Arrive at Mina.

What are the 7 main steps of Hajj?

  • Step 1 – Enter Makkah and Perform the First Rituals. Intention and Ihram.
  • Step 2 – Mina, City of Tents.
  • Step 3 – Day of Arafah.
  • Step 4 – Muzdalifah.
  • Step 5 – Rami al-Jamarat (Stoning the Devil).
  • Step 6 – Eid al-Adha and Nahr (Animal Sacrifices).
  • Step 7 – Farewell Tawaf.

Why tawaf 7 times? When the Prophet SAW offered his pilgrimage, he said to his companions: “Learn your pilgrimage rituals from me.” He SAW thus indicated that the pilgrimage, and all its duties and recommended practices, should be done as he did them at the time. He SAW did the tawaf seven times, and this is how Muslims have been doing ever since.


Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.